DEV Community

Zohar Peled
Zohar Peled

Posted on

I've been a developer for 20 years and just started writing a blog, Ask Me Anything!

I'm currently working mainly on windows/webapi services with c#, SQL Server, MongoDb and Json. (just started with .Net core 2-3 months ago).

I've posted this #AMA mainly to get ideas of stuff other developers would like to know about - so basically this is me using the community to get ideas for blog posts - but I do promise you this: Every blog post I write on my personal blog also gets covered here - sometimes a shorted version and sometimes the entire thing - so one could say that it's my way of get ideas on how to help the community.

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
httpspauline profile image
Pauline

I would love to hear about mistakes you made during your career or "oops"-moments you have been through and what some of your biggest learnings have been (can be both technical and non-technical). Thanks for starting this conversation!

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

That's going to be a post that will take a long time to write... But it's a great idea. Just have to write it in a way that wouldn't make me look like a total idiot ;-)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Are you planning on going purely technical with your blog (e.g. offering how-to's, comparing technologies, etc.) or do you plan on writing posts that are about life as a dev (e.g. what it's like working remote, how you get motivated to work on side projects, etc.)... perhaps it's a mix! Just wondering what direction you're thinking, and also figured throwing out these ideas might help! 😀

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

I've already wrote a few posts, none of them is purely technical. I like telling stories, I guesss...

Collapse
 
deekshasharma25 profile image
Deeksha Sharma

You may want to cover some of the core concepts from SQL. I have seen tremendous people working on SQL not just developers but even Business Analysts and some Marketing teams. Those are the kind of people who need help running different kinds of queries. You might be interested in writing the use case based queries.

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled • Edited

Blogging about core concepts seems to me too much like writing a tutorial - not so sure a blog is a good platform for that. I'll be happy to write about specific queries for specific use cases, though.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What did you think of Mongo when it first came out, and how have your thoughts changed?

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

I was probably unaware of Mongo when it first came out. I've only been working with it's 3.x version (I wanna say 3.6 but I'm on my phone and can't remember for sure). I still like SQL more, but then again, I've only been working with Mongo less than a year, so it's too early to say.

Collapse
 
mburszley profile image
Maximilian Burszley

To expand on that, what is your use-case for it side-by-side with MSSQL?

Thread Thread
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

We use it mostly to store raw data we get from our suppliers. We use Sql server for everything else.

Collapse
 
wduqu001 profile image
Willian Duque

Do you make plans of stuff to study or just go researching and coding personal projects ? I ask because sometimes I try to learn too much at the same time and end up without mastering anything.

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

Actually, I learn what I have to because my job requires it. I rarely learn new technologies or languages just because I find them interesting - but when I do have to learn new things I try to learn a little more than I have to, just to be sure I've got a good understanding of what I'm doing.

Collapse
 
dipakkr profile image
Deepak Kumar

Do you ever think you should have done something differently when you were at the beginning of your career?

If yes, what it is?

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

I don't believe in regrets. First, because you can't really change the past, and second, Do you know what the butterfly effect is? I have no idea what would be the concequences of changing my early career choices... My life is not perfect but I have too much to risk even if I could change the past, and I'm not talking about my career here - so no, I don't think I would want to do anything different, not even the choices that caused me pain.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

In your opinion, does ageism in tech actually exist? What has been your experience with it (personally or second hand)?

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

I think it does, but that's really just an opinion. No one ever tells you they wont hire you because you're too old (and I'm not that old - 43 is not old).

Collapse
 
tam360 profile image
Mirza

any suggestions for junior devs?

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

Don't get into this line of work unless you're willing and able to never stop learning new things.

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

What's your take on dabatase-side logic in the form of store procedures? I've seen projects relying on SP to do almost all business logic, and they end up with really huge and unmaintainable SPs.

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

I would say that some things are better handled in code, but some are better handled in stored procedures. Any data integrity issue, for instance

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

How did you communicate with fellow programmers when you were first starting out 20 years ago?

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled • Edited

Mostly using forums in Hebrew (which is my native language). Needless to say my English is way better now than what it was 20 years ago.