DEV Community

Pete Dubler
Pete Dubler

Posted on

Preserving appearance and layout. ... How?

The following question seems like pretty basic stuff but after hours of research and trying various "fixes" I am still not successful...

In Visual Studio Code, each time I close the current folder, I am greeted with only the “Open a folder” screen. The primary and secondary side bars are gone and I only have one edit window. I have to go to “view/appearance” and" view/editor layout" to restore my layout. Since I start new projects with platformio, I have to first bring up the primary side bar to bring up platformio. I have “windows/preserve” set but that does not help.

Can anyone point out how I can save this user layout so each time I “start clean” by closing a folder, I have my primary and secondary side bar and my two editor windows and all in the proportions that I set them? I know this should be basic stuff, but as I said, I have spent hours searching on this and none of what I found seems to work.

Thanks

Top comments (0)