DEV Community

peter279k
peter279k

Posted on

How to destroy a team by 0x and -x developers?

Introduction

Firstly, you can read this blog post to know about the concepts of 0x and -x developers.

Yes, this is a true story and I've still met this situation since 2017.

We're back to the 2017, and I was a junior web back-end developer.

I was responsible for the web-based electric data management service, electric data analysis service and electric standard data exchange system developments when I was in this team.

At the same moment, I also had to maintain another electric bidding data system.

That system is too awful to read these codes because it's developed by the 0x and -x developers. They are not familiar with Laravel framework.

When I've worked for about six months, the 0x developer left our team and find another job, then -x developer is going to take pregnant vacation at that time.

That was a dark day for me when they leave the team.

They wrote the 3000 line of codes inside one single controller for me and it included the database manipulation and I don't find any model in this project, even the documentation is not existed.

I also cannot imagine that I've to maintain this system by myself.

When I read these codes, I was headache and want to call the ambulance to help me to go to hospital.

It was very very tough and I want to leave the team.

Unfortunately, I've the military service for this research institute.

That is, I've a three-years contract and work for this institute and I cannot quit this team at this moment.

Fortunately, I ask our department manager for the help and he agree with my request then I can find two internships to help me accomplish my projects.

Problems

  • It's obvious that the current problem is from the 0x and -x developers.
  • I also don't know why the institute hires them to cause the problems in our team.
  • They also don't have the good project manager to lead team so that they develop an awful web-based applications. (This story is about project manager I will write another post.)
  • Fortunately, I reorganize my team with two internships and handle oncoming project works.
  • In this July, the -x has been finished the pregnant vacation and go back to our team. I will not work with her because it wastes my time at this momemnt.

Summary of problems

  • If possible, I think you/we should help them to develop the applications/service and let them to be the 1x developers at least.
  • This work I mention on previous item is very difficult because I don't have much time to do this. I'm a full-cycle developer excluding my internships.

  • I hope every good developer don't meet the 0x and -x developers. If you meet them, I also hope you've the enough time to help them to be the 1x developers :).

Top comments (0)