DEV Community

Nicolò Marchesi
Nicolò Marchesi

Posted on

Thoughts on Ruby 3?

Ruby 3 was released yesterday on Christmas 2020.

What do you think of the new features?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
thorstenhirsch profile image
Thorsten Hirsch

First I was excited about optional typing in Ruby, but now that I see that they've split the type signature into separate .rbs files I'm rather sceptic. I've also taken a look at sorbet and their ruby syntax, but don't like it either. I guess the whole topic is just much more complex than I thought. Anyway, I'm currently installing steep and the VS Code extension to see if it helps me.

I guess Ractor is less controversial and most ruby developers appreciate this kind of parallelism with multiple GVL's/RVM's.

Collapse
 
pethron profile image
Nicolò Marchesi

My thoughts exactly

Collapse
 
pethron profile image
Nicolò Marchesi

I'll start by saying that I don't really like the design choice of RBS. I tried it and feels a bit cumbersome having to go back and forth from one file to another to define it's behavior.