DEV Community

Thanh Tien Phat Nguyen
Thanh Tien Phat Nguyen

Posted on

A project contribution: unit test!

Introduction

This time I'm working on creating a minor unit test for a algorithm-gathering repo. algorithmUse is a repo created for the purpose to embark on Data Structures and Algorithm. This repo contains multiple popular algorithms written in various languages.

What did I do?

To encourage people to get involved to open source. The owner of the repo open an issue in which requested contribution to create unit tests for their algorithms.

How did I do

I, myself, also want to contribute. Therefore, I started to write a test for their binary search algorithm. My test is basically based on:

  • Return -1 if an array is empty
  • Return -1 if the to-be-found element is even in an odd array
  • Return the 0 if the element is found in the first position of an sorted array
  • Return the index of an element in an array.
  • Return middle - 1 if the element is found in the middle of the array.

Conclusion

  • Writing test helps us to have big picture when it comes to designing an algorithm.
  • You can also check my contribution at here

Top comments (0)