DEV Community

pipe2path
pipe2path

Posted on

My win this week

I worked on an Arduino project to measure soil moisture in my backyard. The projects consists of 2 devices, one that has a soil humidity sensor in my backyard and the other device as a gateway to the internet to log the data. Connectivity between the 2 devices is thru 2.4GHz radio. Software stack used was C++ on the arduino (ESP32) devices, Nodejs on the REST endpoints and AngularJS on the mobile web app to display recent readings.

Sensor device

Alt Text

The sensor device measures soil moisture, then goes to sleep for 30 minutes, wakes up and repeats the process. It runs on a Li-ion battery, currently projected for 10 days only. I am working on prolonging battery life making some adjustments.

Relay Device

Alt Text

The relay device receives the RF signal data (soil moisture), connects to the wifi, sends the data to a service endpoint on Heroku.

Consumer App

Alt Text

The front-end app shows the readings on a knob image, with all readings for the last 24 hours.

This project was super fun, however I am quite dissapointed with the projected battery life of approx. 10 days. I have ordered a more efficient microcontroller board, so the battery life can last longer.

Top comments (0)