DEV Community

Alex Pliutau
Alex Pliutau

Posted on

Script to get the emails of your dev.to followers

Why

You may want to reach your followers directly. In my case I needed this script to share our new project packagemain.tech with the audience.

How does it work

  1. A lot of users on dev.to are using Github to sign up, so their username matches their Github username
  2. Some people have their email address public on Github

Input parameters

  1. dev.to cookie session. You can find it Dev Tools by inspecting any XHR request and looking for _Devto_Forem_Session
  2. Github personal access token. You can create one here

Go script

https://gist.github.com/plutov/8db528b6470ce7c9b2d0e19670f79698

Usage

go run dev_to_emails.go --devtocookie={DEV_TO_COOKIE}--ghtoken={GH_TOKEN}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Output

  • users.json - list of dev.to followers
  • emails.txt - list of found emails

In my case I was able to find 900+ unique emails from my followers.

Hope this was helpful and please use it with good intentions only.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

Wow, it's somehow match something I was looking for

My need was to get the list of my followers on dev.to with their github account, so I could follow them on GitHub too

Collapse
 
plutov profile image
Alex Pliutau

Absolutely possible with Github API.