DEV Community

prakhyatkarri
prakhyatkarri

Posted on

Completed Hacktoberfest 2020!

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

This is my second year participating in this Hackathon. Last year, this event helped me in getting exposed to Open Source culture and collaboration. I believe this year it taught me to try to deliver quality over quantity. I have invited some of my friends to participate in this event this year and I believe they felt the same.

I know there are many people who might be participating in this event for a Tee or Goodies. If you're one of them, go for it. But, once you reach your target 4 PRs, try to focus on high quality contributions where Projects really need your help. These contributions should focus on solving issues rather than just counting towards Hacktoberfest qualification. These contributions add value to both projects and your mileage in promoting Open Source collaboration. It can be just 1 PR, but it could bring utmost satisfaction when accepted by Maintainer. Enough said. Happy Hacking!

Top comments (0)