DEV Community

Prasad Saya
Prasad Saya

Posted on

My first personal website

Few weeks back I started working on a website for myself with an introduction and some work related details. I concluded with registering the domain and hosting the site today.

The website has the usual home, posts, projects and about pages. These are HTML/CSS pages with some JavaScript coding.

I also added a Photos page with couple of photos I had taken. This page is only navigable from the About page.

Deciding what posts or content to include in the site is not an easy task. I think the website content is a constant work in progress.

You can view the website at: prasadsaya.com

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
hendrikras profile image
Hendrik Ras

I see you (must) have implemented some api of stack overflow to link to all comments you made. And you can even search and filter based on tags such as programming language.

That's pretty cool perhaps you could do a follow up on how you did that.

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya • Edited

Its a cool feature alright. But, I didn't use any API or any such magic. It is just the Stack Overflow website feature. Your account/profile has all those.

[EDIT ADD]
I think I didn't understand your question correctly last night (I was just calling the day off). Is it the Posts page you are referring to? If so, it is not any API from anywhere. It is just plain HTML/CSS and some JavaScript. The data itself is a JSON array with each post details as an element.

You can view the source code by right clicking on the web page and then select the View Page Source from the context menu (from a browser like Chrome or Firefox). This will show the source code which you can study and even try.

Hope it answers your question and please do let me know if it worked.