DEV Community

Quame Jnr
Quame Jnr

Posted on

Working as an Engineer at mPharma

It was like the second week or so at mPharma when I joined a meeting we regularly have, called ‘Coffee Break’. During Coffee Break, we catch up, properly welcome new employees if any, and play games like 2 truths, one lie, Tetris, typing games, etc. Mind you, this is all online. After my first coffee break, I was in my room and I remember saying to myself, “Wow, this is the best place I have ever worked at. This is the best place that I could ever be.'' You know how much positive vibes have to be exuded in a virtual meeting for you to feel it in your house? I work remotely, and every time I log onto Slack or get into a meeting, I feel a positive work environment all around me.

There is an open-door culture where I could just hit up my CTO on Slack. I should even hit him up for our regular linkup after this. Anyway, as I was saying, I could just hit up my CTO on Slack and schedule a chat during the week. That is how accessible people are at the workplace. Selasie Anani is a top top guy, and it doesn’t take long for you to realize how much of the engineering culture in mPharma emanates from him. He has set a precedent in both actions and words as a leader that everyone else embodies.

You can’t help but become a team player because of the joy that comes from working with your teammates. You can’t help but assist others because of the help you have already received. Your voice is sought out, your words are acknowledged, and your proposals actually make a difference, whether you are an intern, an entry-level engineer, or a senior engineer. It doesn’t matter. You don’t have to go through a lot of red tape to get things done. Everyone is ever ready to help you drive change and help you become the best version of yourself.

This is the culture at mPharma, where there is no pressure on you to be anyone else or anything else but the best version of yourself, where titles are just formalities, and superiority is a lost word only realized when viewing organizational charts.

Top comments (0)