DEV Community

Richard Guay
Richard Guay

Posted on • Updated on

Adding an Exchange Rate Display to the PlashServer

I’m one of those people that love to control what’s on the background of my computer. I’ve used many widget tools to perform these tasks, but they all left me as under developed, hacky at times, and not as easy to use as I would like. That’s most likely because I never took the time to really get into their code structures. But, when you create your own thing, then you know it very well.

When the Plash program came out for the macOS, I jump right onto it. It allows you to put any website, whether a local file system one or one served on the net, as your background. That directly inspired me to create a Svelte based background webpage for Plash.

I have a full tutorial series on my personal blog site. The first tutorial takes you through the building of the basic framework and getting everything running with Plash. The initial widgets are a circular time display with the actual time under it.

My latest tutorial is an Exchange Rate widget. This widget will show the current exchange rate for whatever currency your interested in seeing. Since it’s a widget, you can add it onto your screen as many times as you like. This tutorial really shows how to make use of promises in the Svelte framework.

This series assumes you know very little about Svelte. I am trying to use it as a way to get more people interested in Svelte framework and know how to use if for their needs. I think it makes a great playground to learn Svelte.

I would love to see your comments on this series. All code is located on my GitHub repository for the PlashServer. Fork it, expand it, and send me some pull requests. It would be a lot of fun to have a community contributing to this project.

Top comments (0)