DEV Community

rahulbhai9
rahulbhai9

Posted on

How I made my first contribution in open source?

Generally, many people make their first contribution in a month of October. but here I am who has made his first contribution after the whole October was over. But there is a never wrong time to contribute in open source. So let's go through journey of my first opensource contribution!
I was able to make my first contribution in Supabase which is opensource alternative to Firebase. I fixed an issue related to accessibility!

How I found a project?

It can be donting for anyone to find a project to contribute to. It was same for me. but I have habit of browsing random websites and its repositories on Github. Still, it is very difficult to find and pick an issue which are beginner friendly. Whenever I use any website and if I find any issues which can be fixed, I keep a mental note of it. You can write it down as well. When I was reading blog in Supabase I noticed that in the footer section of the article, my screen reader was not reading names of social media sites properly. and I had an idea about how to fix the issue using aria-label.. so it was time to browse the repository.

Contributed!

I visited there repository. I read there how to contribute guide. And I created issue for the problem which I was facing. Here is the Github issue: Inaccessible links in Supabase blog
I could have directly submitted the pull request but I was unsure whether it is right path. So I decided not to do that. instead I followed there issue template and mentioned my problem. I also asked that I would like to contribute. And after couple of hours I received confirmation that I can go ahead with my contribution. Honestly, it was the moment field with excitement! I went ahead. I forked the repo and made necessary changes in the code. After doing that I submitted my first PR! Here is that PR: My first PR But I made a little mistake. generally after forking the repo, we create new branch for our specific code changes and submit PR from that branch. but I forgot to do that and made changes in the main branch and submitted PR directly from the main branch. Now, it was time to wait. for couple of days I did not here anything. But I was aware that it can take a long time to get a feedback so I decided to wait. and finally I received an email and when I saw it my PR was successfully merged! This is how I made my first contribution in open source.
If anyone would want any help regarding accessibility, I will try my best.
Any feedbacks are welcome!
Keep contributing!

Top comments (0)