DEV Community

Cover image for Learning as a newbie
raissa she/her
raissa she/her

Posted on

Learning as a newbie

Hello Everyone!
My name is Raissa,(hi-essa)this is my first ever blog post and to be frank with you all, writing has never been one of my strong suits, but who am I kidding coding has never been a strong either. However, since joining G{Code} House, I have been learning a lot and surprising myself with the things I know I can do.

As a person with learning disabilities, school has never been easy for me, but learning how to code has been the best decision that I have made for myself. Not only has introduced me to an amazing community, but it has made me more confident that I can learn anything I put my mind to.

Currently, I live in Chicago, where I have been for the past 8 years, since immigrating from Brazil, like all immigrants desire, to pursue a better life.

I have a background in fashion, but since the pandemic, I noticed that it wasn’t my calling to be a stylist anymore. I am also really into fashion design, and those creative abilities have made me love the Front-end and CSS part of web development. Being able to style a web page and make it pleasing to the eye, has been so fun and I can’t wait to keep learning how to code and in the future learn how to bring clothing to life in a digital form.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ebhargro profile image
ebhargro

Amazing! So happy to have you in the community! Your background in design will serve you so well as you create beautiful user interfaces.

Collapse
 
raissanfg profile image
raissa she/her

Thank you!!!!

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

I am soo proud of you amiga!!!

Collapse
 
raissanfg profile image
raissa she/her

Tudo começou com vc amiga ❤️