DEV Community

Cover image for Baker to Coder
rantunish20
rantunish20

Posted on

Baker to Coder

I've been a baker for more then 6 years. I enjoyed my job, everyday we got to just make and bake bread. It was my first job coming out of high school. At first it was a job, money in my pocket and it was like that for a while. It wasn't until I got hired at my last bakery where things changed. I met people who were very passionate about their jobs. To them it was an art and they wanted to perfect it. I never thought about it like that.

That mentally flicked a switch in my head. I started to wonder how it all worked. From the sourdough to yeast, I started to ask why we did it in a certain order and why not another. Everyone was happy to teach me and it was great but something else clicked. As much as i enjoyed this, I wasn't as passionate as my coworkers. That made me start looking else where. I wanted that drive, that hunger for answer. That's when I started getting into coding and IT.

Why did I go into software development? I'm always learning and trying new things. It's because I can create things. While baking I learned something important about myself, I want to create things and I want to understand how it works. This is just a start but I've never been happier learning all of this.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
askeridos profile image
Adam AUTUORI

Hello, I am also a baker with 6 years of experience, and I am doing a refresher course with a boss (60 years old) who really has the spirit of a developer: he is constantly trying things and playing with the different factors that are water, flour, salt, ferment, time and temperature. Recently, we discovered the benefits of a bread on starch, which ensures a better development, a very long conservation and a brighter crumb !

I advised him to get down to code...