DEV Community

Cover image for Just be programmer. Not QA not support not anything!
raselldev
raselldev

Posted on • Updated on

Just be programmer. Not QA not support not anything!

This article is based on my own story this week, nothing is right and nothing is wrong. We just have to study and learn to deal with all that is in our work.

As is known, there are many fields in IT that have developed so rapidly, initially only a backend engineer could become a python engineer because of the existing market needs. It is also possible in other fields to run like this. For now I am involved in 2 projects that I think are big. Management-wise, I was not involved in the project because I was new and had "no skills".

In the following months, I was involved in these 2 projects, namely project A and project B.

My work for project A is:

  1. Create an HTTP API that connects Java and C#, which will then hit C# to Java(I use spring boot to speed things up)

As for project B are:

  1. I have to translate the display from design to XAML form, incidentally my company uses Tech Stack .NET which requires all employees to use .NET

Both projects look easy right? Because each project only requires 1 task.

The following month, project A did not spell out the linkage of a data to the AWS S3 Bucket, okay in the end I was re-appointed to work on the linkage, here I still feel, "okay, this is still under control". In the same month, I received a ticket to assist the user department in requesting data, and I could not refuse the request because all requests had to be done.

Finally my job is

  1. HTTP API project A
  2. XAML design project B
  3. Linkage project A
  4. user requests

Still safe? Yes it seems so. But in fact there is not only 1 user request, there are several user requests regarding application changes, data requests, data changes, and others. Okay, I feel like this will be a burden for me because in my company no one has the capacity to work on project A and no one can work on cross platform mobile applications other than me and 3 of my friends, but the three of them also have different tasks.

It seems that if you see, what I do is support user, backend service (project A), mobile service (project B), if they are categorized, there are very few but have very many parent-child relationships. Because of this, I decided to report it to my superiors because I didn't feel strong enough to do all of this, because I didn't only do coding work, but also had to do testing, create documentation, meet with users related to the project, and also touch the database directly :).

With so many jobs, my boss said that the most important thing is time management, okay... Then how?

2 hours for project A, 2 hours for project B, 2 hours for user requests.

This is very difficult for me to do because the focus is divided and even the existing work is not completed on time. In the end, what should I do?

Top comments (0)