DEV Community

Kelvin Thompson
Kelvin Thompson

Posted on

Reality Engineering

This was originally posted on my blog
https://www.redeving.dev/2020/05/reality-engineering.html

Just a quick blurb as I thought of it in transit before I forget.

There are a number of things I've found useful in trying to get through things by altering your life inside first. I call it Reality Engineering.

Focusing your goals.

Are you ready to do what it takes to achieve your goals? I can't remember where I came across it (I've tried to find out), or even when, but I have adopted it for over a decade, and ... it's helped as a type of litmus test for some of my goals, or aspects of my goals.

It doesn't matter how trivial your goal may seem to others (and who cares?!) It can be for a small step (break your 'reality-program' into modules) or even grander designs.

Keep Asking Yourself

What do you have?
What do you want?
What will you give up?

So just a 'tip of the hat' to the originator, and whatever forces of chance, guile and hilarity that seem to guide the universe! And as Sylvester the Cat says, "th-thanksss!"

Top comments (0)