DEV Community

James Ah Yong
James Ah Yong

Posted on

The time I was bored in English

Volunteering Peel is a non-profit student-run organization that connects high school students with community involvement opportunities. We need 40 hours here in Ontario to graduate. For the past decade or so, it's been a place for students to sign up for volunteer events.

Enter my boredom in AP English class. The site was poorly designed – I'd later learn it hadn't been substantially updated since around 2010 – and not responsive on mobile at all. I was a beginner at React at the time so I thought I'd whip up a quick wireframe for a replacement before I doze off during another lecture.

Fast-forward a few years and I have a team of my own to maintain the site and add features. It was a learning experience to create the new site, especially considering what kinds of features were requested like WebSockets-based real-time editing of attendance lists.

The creation of the new site wouldn't've been possible without Github Education Pack tools. Prototyping on AWS or DigitalOcean without having to worry about paying out of a broke high school student's pocket is a lifesaver.

Demo Link

Volunteering Peel

Link to Code

GitHub logo volunteeringpeel / volunteeringpeel

Volunteering Peel website

volunteeringpeel

CircleCI dependencies Status devDependencies Status Waffle.io - Columns and their card count Total alerts

Volunteering Peel Beta site (WIP)

Redesign of the current Volunteering Peel site with a Node.JS-MySQL-React stack.

Will be properly documented eventually. Eventually. For now rely on comments and on the Markdown documents in docs.




Top comments (0)