DEV Community

Cover image for My Experience Learning Bash Scripting as a Student
Revati
Revati

Posted on

My Experience Learning Bash Scripting as a Student

I recently started learning Bash scripting. I wanted to share a bit about why I decided to learn it and how it’s been helpful so far.

Why Learn Bash?

As a student, I’ve worked with Python, but I realized learning Bash could make my life easier when working with Linux systems and automating tasks like file organization or backups. Bash is great for handling these tasks directly from the command line.

How I Learned

Started small: I began with basic commands like navigating directories and creating files.
YouTube help: M Prashant’s YouTube channel was super helpful. His videos on Bash scripting are easy to follow, especially for beginners.
Practice: I wrote small scripts to automate simple tasks, like organizing files or setting reminders.

What I’ve Gained

Time saved: Automating tasks has made things quicker.
Better with Linux: I’m more comfortable using the terminal.
Confidence in scripting: I’m now writing scripts more easily.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If you’re just starting with Bash, I highly recommend checking out M Prashant’s YouTube channel. Let me know if you have any questions or if you're learning Bash too!

Happy coding! 😊

Top comments (0)