DEV Community

Max
Max

Posted on

How I fixed UpWork.com with 100 lines of code

A short story of learning a new skill everyone should have anyway


Picture getting hundreds of search results for C# jobs on a freelance website.

You scroll through, but nothing appeals. You click on Full stack category and half of the results are a repeat of the C# search you just went through because they were listed in both categories. Frustrating, isn't it?

And there is not much we, as users can do about it.

  1. Use some other website
  2. Ask them to improve the search
  3. Ignore the problem

There is one more "secret" option: Fix It Right In Your Browser

So, how hard would it be to build a browser add-on to hide job posts I already looked at?

The short answer is, not hard at all and I have a proof for it. Let me retrace my steps and show you what's involved in making your first browser add-on ...

Step 1: Read up on it

My browser of choice is Firefox, so I headed to MDN for some basic add-on info. One hour later I knew that:

  • add-ons are basically JS code that exists independent of the website
  • almost anything on the web page can be read and modified by them
  • most of the requests can be intercepted and modified as well
  • the dev environment is the same as for front-end work (JS/TS)
  • there is plenty of good Get Started material

Step 2: Set everything up

It took me about half a day to set everything up, understand how to use TypeScript compiler (ended up not needing it), download the samples and get ready for "cutting the code". The tool-chain is actually quite simple and easy to install:

Step 3: Try out some basics

I picked a suitably looking add-on from a long lineup of samples, fired it up in the browser via web-ext tool and started making small changes to the code to get a feel for it. Several hours later I felt like I was getting somewhere. The code was doing most of what I needed, but it was an unreliable mishmash of badly structured JS.

I learned to:

  • make changes to the code and write some new lines
  • debug
  • quickly find my way around the documentation

Step 4: Drift off-course

You know how it goes. Hours pass before you realise it's a dead end.

I managed to successfully intercept and modify XHR requests with job listings from UpWork just to realise that modifying them would not solve my problem. That wasn't a complete write-off, though. I learned something very useful for other add-on projects I have in mind (Xero and Spotify, I'm coming for you!).

Step 5: Make it work

If JS is not your main tool of trade, like it is not for me, expect it to take longer than you think. I spent a whole long day writing 107 lines of code while looking up Web API on MDN and chasing my own tail more times that I'm prepared to admit.

In the nutshell, the coding part for an add-on is no different from writing some client-side JS script. The workflow is quite straightforward as well:

signing procedure

Was it worth my time?

All in all, my adventure to learn and build my first browser add-on took me 2 days. Making a similar add-on again would take me only a few hours.

I don't know if the time saved by using my UpWork add-on will pay back in pure economic sense, but I do know I will no longer have the frustration of looking at the same job ad more than once. So yes, it was totally worth my time.


Check out https://github.com/rimutaka/upwork-browser-addon if you are an UpWork user or just want to see the source code.

fixed page

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
clem_corbin profile image
Clément Corbin

I'm always looking for ways to enhance my freelancer workflow; this looks interesting, might try it soon! Upwork UX is so painful