DEV Community

Rishabh Sharma
Rishabh Sharma

Posted on

First step towards web-scraping

Torrent Finder

This is a python program for searching torrent and finding mangnet links. It can copy that magnet link to clipboard for making our work more easy

Live Link

You can see my telegram bot named Torrent Finder which is the live working of this project. Simply search "findTorrent_bot" on telegram and you will find my bot.

Link to Code

Check the repo on my github. Do not forget to star the repo and follow me for future updates.
Torrent Finder

How I built it

I used BeautifulSoup for scraping the best torrent sites, 1337x and solidtorrents. When you run the search.py it simply ask for you to enter a query and then it start searching for the torrents and with help of beautufulsoup it show you the results(upto 40) and ask to choose and when you choose one it will get you the magnet link. And with the help of python module "pyperclip" it can copy that magnet link to clipboard.

Reason behind the idea

I love watching movies and season and with the help of Torrent Finder I can easily search for the magnet link of my favourite movie without going to any site or using VPN. It make my work easy and I hope it will helpful for you too.
This is the first version and more features coming soon.

Thanks to read my blog. It is my first blog, please ignore the mistakes.

Top comments (0)