DEV Community

Ritik Patel
Ritik Patel

Posted on

6 months intern as a Software Engineer, GeeksforGeeks

I was in my 3rd year, during the end of January 2021, I was approached by GeeksforGeeks Hiring team to join immediately as an intern. I wasn't sure about taking the opportunity, as it was an in-office opportunity. Later, talked with some of my friends, and decided to give it a shot.

I gave my interviews, it consisted of DSA round, and then web development round. After that last round, was by HR to ask me when I will be able to join the team at Noida, Uttar Pradesh. I replied as 8'th February. Soon got the offer letter, it was my first paid internship so it was a happy moment for me.

On the first day, I visited the office, it was a not so big, but spacious enough. I was assigned the Auth team of GeeksforGeeks. Shubham Baranwal was the team lead. He told me to go through the basics of git, bitbucket, jira, php, amazon dynamoDB, as I will be working on these technologies.

After one week, I was aware about some of the workings of these technologies. I received my first task, and was assigned Saurav Prateek as my mentor or guide during internship. He taught me almost everything from creating branches using git, making API's, improving code quality, reviewed my code before sending it to merge to solving my silliest of doubts. I couldn't have wished for a better mentor.

After one month, I even got to attend team party at one of the clubs in Delhi. It was so much fun. During mid April, corona cases again started to increase, and everyone was told to go back home. The situation only got worse after that. After that, 4 months of my internship were spent doing work from home. It was not that much fun as office. Though, I got lot of time to do other things.

This was my first time working as a professional, and all of it was worth it. Thanks to GeeksforGeeks!

Top comments (0)