DEV Community

Cover image for Day 1/100 - New Year on a New Journey with DynamoDB
Andika Demas Riyandi
Andika Demas Riyandi

Posted on

Day 1/100 - New Year on a New Journey with DynamoDB

TL;DR; I created this post to update my daily progress doing the #100DaysOfCloud challenge. On the first day, I cannot spend much time learning due to family matters. Today, I learned about DynamoDB through Mark Richman’s course.

I am very excited to do my #100DaysOfCloud challenge in 2021. However, I should attend family gatherings and I cannot avoid it. The good part is it will not interfere with my daily work (since I started my work at 4 PM) and the bad part is I only have two hours to study the #100DaysofCloud challenge. The first thing that came to my mind is doing a cloud resume challenge. However, I am not really familiar with DynamoDB and that is why I pick the DynamoDB course.

Actually, I already have a static website using Zola static site generator but I never published it because of several reasons. Hence, when I read the cloud resume challenge, I am pretty sure this is the right time to start my own website using the challenge. Different from using Zola, what I want to do is build my own website using Rust’s WebAssembly. With that said, two hours is not enough, so I think this website will be finished tomorrow or the day after tomorrow.

When I read about the cloud resume challenge, I realized that I need to access a DynamoDB service for the visitor counter feature. I then tried to find good resources to learn DynamoDB and found this Amazing DynamoDB Deep Dive course from A Cloud Guru. Within two hours, I have managed to take some notes about DynamoDB through the course even though I am still far from the lab section.

Tomorrow, I will start building my website using WebAssembly and setting up an AWS Lambda that will be used to access DynamoDB.

Top comments (0)