DEV Community

robborys
robborys

Posted on

From the point of a new developer...

What is confusing about platforms?

What exactly they are / what exactly their purposes and differences are. It is kind of expected that you understand exactly what they are and why you should use them without any prior context. It's confusing overall because as someone who only has prior experience coding local applications in Java, I have never thought about these kinds of problems before. I would like to know more about why a dev uses what they do, or why their company uses and how they choose.

How could web components and VanillaJS standards be taught in a way that is more approachable?

It seems like it would be a much better idea to learn the basics and more traditional ways of web development first. I think that getting dropped into the world of HTML CSS and JS right away and then immediately being exposed to Vue React and Svelte just makes things unnecessarily confusing. After being exposed to so much at once, I haven't had time to be able to specialize in any particular one or really pick up some skill. Instead I will immediately default to doing whatever I did last becuase that's most likely what I understand the most at the moment. I think that if the most simple basics of HTML were taught to me first and I grew comfortorable with that, I would be more resistant to overcomplicating things with JS. I also think that I would care more about what platform or components I use because I could envision what my project needs that I cannot complete myself.

What did you find easiest to work with on 1st stab?

I thought web components were easier, I don't have an exact reason as to why, I think I was just exposed to a lot of possibilities in a short amount of time so I just ended up doing more research and dedicated more time to understanding web components over other things.

Think back on the tooling. What parts were confusing? What clicked with you immediately?

I thought that the entire process was confusing. No particular part clicked immediately. (not quite sure if this particularly relates to tooling) I think that using open-wc framework clicked the most. I think that using the terminal always makes things seem more obvoius as you are forced to look at everything in a very plain way. Understanding what exactly npm is was definitely a confusing part.

**

What additional readings did you have to do in order to make sense of things?**

  • looked up what SPA frameworks are
  • Detailed explanation of web components
  • Detailed explanation of frameworks
  • Looked up differences and advantages of using web components
  • Looked up what frameworks vs what JS Libraries are
  • Looked into more detail about what Vue is
  • What is tooling?

Top comments (0)