DEV Community

Robin  Dev
Robin Dev

Posted on • Originally published at larachamp.com on

Got A Software Developer Job | No Degree

This is Gurpreet this side. I am going to talk about my own journey about how I started into software development without having any degree so It was an amazing journey that I don’t tell so much and nobody asks me about it. In my job everyone thinks I do have some degree but the truth is here in this article.

How It started

Made for coding
Made for coding

When I completed my 12th well then I was in the confusion that what should I start then I got an idea to ask someone else who is already doing something.

Then I asked so many people that should I do this course or this course. Everyone does have their opinions basically separate separate opinions.

I thought that I should do photography I was completely decided to go there. Then eventually an cousin said that why you don’t start into web.

Then the twist came into my life. But the thing was that I have never heard the word coding. Seriously, I said okay and thought that whatever it is I’m enjoy being all the time on computer.

Learned basics

I started learning HTML what the is this, Well in HTML when I used marquee tag at first time I got some confidence that I am building some design kind of thing. Then I get to know about css wow… life changed after that I gave some messy colors and background colors to the HTML that I have built previously using some div’s and inputs.

I was like now I am a designer. And It is true I had that much of confidence because everything I was building with my mobile phones most of the time.

My First Programming Language

Now, Brother said that learning HTML and CSS isn’t enough you should learn something more. Then He is already in php he said learn about php I said okay no problem. Then I started finding stuff about PHP on youtube and W3Schooland Became a confident developer after few months. Still I didn’t had a thought about I would get job without degree but I was just working on my stuff.

Freelancing Time

Then problems started coming, I had no degree to get a job was felt like impossible. I thought that okay I can’t do job atleast I can do code. But I didn’t know that I would have an another option.

That’s called Freelancing, I built my profile on fiverr. As well as on upwork too.

I did around 4 projects on Fiverr because in Development you do work on single project for months. After that this problem get solved because I was thinking that I am earning enough as a freelancer I don’t need to focus anywhere.

Finally, Got A Job

asaan hai
Asaan Hai

Well, After doing freelancing one thing was making me bore that, I was working alone at home no connections no interactions. I thought that I would take a job and then I will think anything else. I started preparing for interviews and in few days I read almost about PHP and Laravel and fortunately I got a job in our popular city.

It’s a amazing change for me. Because everyone around me in company and in sounding does have a good degree to stand out I do only have my skills to show.

I hope I explained it well. Bye for now.

Conclusion

So, Like many people out there does have skills but may be they won’t have any degree. So, In this way you can get a job. In IT specifically If you do have some experience then the degree doesn’t sounds that much.

Google usually do hire bachelors who do help them to find bugs almost all tech giants do this stuff. But In the same way you don’t need to be a degree person If you have good skills in Tech.

The post Got A Software Developer Job | No Degree appeared first on Larachamp.

Top comments (0)