DEV Community

Rodrigo Juarez
Rodrigo Juarez

Posted on • Originally published at blog.rodrigojuarez.com on

Xamarin.Forms deploy to Android 11 emulator in Windows

I’m usually using the Android emulator while I’m working with VS, and today I was trying to build and deploy to a newly created Android 11 emulator with no luck.

As always, Stack Overflow to the rescue!

In this link, they comment that the problem is that with Android 11 we need a different way of sign the apk.

I didn’t found the option to do it using the UI, so, we need to add the following tag to our Android csproj file for the debug configuration.

<AndroidUseApkSigner>true</AndroidUseApkSigner>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also needed to disable the use of Shared Runtime and Fast Deployment in the Android project properties

After all the changes, my app is deploying to the Android 11 emulator without issues!

Top comments (0)