DEV Community

Roger Stach
Roger Stach

Posted on

What's the easiest way to put authentication into a website

I usually just use PHP & MySQL, but I would like to know the modern way to create it. Probably with MongoDB or some fancy JavaScript framework.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay

Passport is solid and decently easy to set up if you're using Express (there are independent modules for other frameworks like koa) and don't have anything especially outré in your user model.

Or if you want to use OAuth, there's Grant. But I haven't used that one.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Auth0 comes to mind—Auth as a service. I haven't used it, but it definitely has the potential to take a lot off your plate and will likely integrate well with the fancy JS framework of your dreams.

Collapse
 
martyonthefly profile image
Sylvain Marty

I implemented it a few months ago and it was kind of easy to setup and a very powerful service.
But I think that it's a good thing to know how to setup at least basic HTTP and JWT Authentication itself before using a Saas for authentication. For example, JWT Auth implementation isn't simple and a bad implementation can lead to security issues on both server and client side. So, implementing the solution by himself is a good way to learn how it works and to learn the best pratices. ;)

Collapse
 
roger profile image
Roger Stach

What does dev.to use for it's authentication?

Collapse
 
bencehornyak profile image
Bence Hornyak

Twitter and/or Github oauth2 based on how you can create your dev.to account.. :)

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Meteor (JavaScript framework that uses Mongo) has auth built in which makes life super easy! I have found auth in Express kind of tricky but that could just be for my specific purposes. I also love Django (Python) which also has auth out of the box!

Collapse
 
hamzaop profile image
Hamza

I think using Meteor to do authentication is overkill, express and passport are great, especially for learning how things work, but I think the most effective way is not reinventing the wheel, Auth0 does the job perfectly.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That might be true but it's worth knowing about it that makes picking Meteor as a general solution more appealing.

Thread Thread
 
hamzaop profile image
Hamza

I totally agree with you on that.

Collapse
 
gleaming_cube profile image
Darren Harding

As a .NET developer and for my personal projects I feel you can't go wrong with good old ASP.NET Identity. I'm not sure how well it scales to larger projects however.