DEV Community

Cover image for Everybody Struggles
Ruqaiya
Ruqaiya

Posted on

Everybody Struggles

Hi Everyone, I am in the 3rd week of my internship. Now, I get to know my mentors and fellow interns, and we discussed our project details, and how things will work on the project (digital stethoscope AI). From here interns are supposed to be in the action phase of the project. The first part of the action phase is the AI/ML part of our project. Before that, I want to share how I clear my curiosity about some terms during my application phase, which was new to me. 

Open source - Open source refers to a type of software whose source code is available to the public and can be freely used, modified, and distributed by anyone as long as they stick to certain conditions, such as properly attributing the software to its original developers and not using it for commercial purposes without permission. [asked from ChatGPT]

Open-source Software- open source software is all about the community coming together to collaborate and build something amazing and open-source software allows you to learn and practice new skills in a safe environment. [source book: Forge your Future with Open source by VM(Vicky) Brasseur]

Community - Group of individuals who come together to collaborate and build something amazing. Those can be programmers, designers, documentation writers, and other contributors who work together to improve the project and make it more widely available [source book: Forge your Future with Open source by VM(Vicky) Brasseur]

MboaLab Community - The community to which I contributed, is an open and collaborative space located in Yaoundé, Cameroon. The aim of MboaLab is to catalyze sustainable local development and improve people's living conditions through open science.

Outreachy: provides internships in open source and open science.

My core value "Learning" helped me to ask out for help while struggling with the problems I face during the initial phase of the application.

Now come back to the 3rd-week internship phase. As I stated above, I am in the action phase now. And the sad part is I have not worked on Machine Learning (ML) before, not even having knowledge of it, which makes me nervous. But After having a session with my mentors, I am reminded that this internship is about getting to know how open source and community works. We must focus on what we can do, instead of wasting time on the things we can't do. 

Nobody is an expert, but learning, practicing, and growing is what we can do. So I, with my fellow interns decided to accept this challenge and started learning about ML after discussing it with mentors. Below are the new terms I learned about an AI part of my project.

The terms I learned are Stethogram - The record of heart sounds.
 
TensorFlow - TensorFlow is an open-source end-to-end platform that makes it easy for you to build and deploy ML models. 
Machine Learning - Programming with data, is the practice of helping software perform a task without explicit programming or rules. 

A Neural Network is a type of model that can be trained to recognize patterns. 

Model: A statistical representation of a prediction task. You train a model on examples and then use the model to make predictions. in our project case, the model is the audio soundtrack of a heartbeat. 

Pipeline: The infrastructure surrounding a machine learning algorithm. Includes gathering the data from the front end, putting it into training data files, training one or more models, and exporting the models to production.

Learning new things can take time and effort. We struggle to find the right resource to follow, so our mentors encourage us to use OpenAI. It is an AI research and deployment company. Their mission is to ensure that artificial general intelligence benefits all of humanity. Asking for help for what you don't know from those who know can be fun for them to help. Discussing and writing about what I don't know or struggle with helping me to find the answer to what I can do. 

Where I find more help ?

I posted on my Twitter and searched on LinkedIn. You know when you seek help universe will start showing you a solution, I found a post where a person posted that he will gift a Udemy paid course randomly to anyone who comment on his post with whatever course they comment on, so I searched for the best resource I found on Udemy for ML/AI I comment that link and Fortunately got his DM with the gifted course on ML/AI. I will reveal that course after completing it in my next blog till then Never stop Learning, Practicing, and Growing

👏 Press the Like button below to show your support and motivate me to write more useful!

💬 Leave a response to this article by providing your understanding, comments, or requests for future articles.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
himanshu007creator profile image
himanshu007-creator

Really insightful

Collapse
 
ruqaiya profile image
Ruqaiya

Thank you!