DEV Community

Ruzindana Guillian
Ruzindana Guillian

Posted on

Fist week of the task force

As we are winding up with week one, here is what I learnt and the challenges that I have encountered and how I tried to overcome them.

The first week of the task force was full of many new resourceful skills that I did not even know that I needed. Firstly, the warm up session taught me that knowing how to communicate properly with your team mates can make the work easier and that the communication does not necessarily have to be verbal which was quite interesting and fun. And also when we did the 16 personalities, I got to learn a few new things about myself that I usually did not pay attention to.

Secondly, the presentation session taught me what actually matters most in presentations is how you present your work and not the actual work which was quite surprising because I always thought the opposite way, so that was very educative. Thirdly, the session with Hans was very resourceful because I learnt that there are many ways to address certain things with different people depending on the environment that you are in, which is effective communication.

On the other hand, the tech sessions taught me the importance of good user stories and the impact they can have on the design of the interfaces. I also got to learn how to make good and straight to the point user stories that helps the developer to understand well the functionalities. From this, I got a bit challenged when I had to implement someone else's user stories in a short period of time. This made me learn to deliver a good work in the shortest period of time which pushed me to put in more effort, so I would say that this challenge was worth it.
Looking forward to week two.

Top comments (0)