DEV Community

Ryan Brown
Ryan Brown

Posted on

shift+Insert, when did this become my goto for paste

My computing history (where a clipboard existed) began on old school Macintosh's. For past from clipboard ⌘+v was how it was, ctl+v on Windows when that system became my usual OS.
Dabbling in Unix and Linux necessitated the learning of shift+insert (and middle click in most window managers.)

I still use Windows the most due to work and gaming, but usually have a terminal open to a Linux system for various uses. I'm glad that many windows interfaces support the shift+insert variant for pasting copied or cut content.

What do you use most now? Did you change your default paste command? What triggered that change?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
lionelrowe profile image
lionel-rowe • Edited

Don't forget about Win+V (on Windows 10 and 11)! Super useful to have more than one clipboard entry available.

mspoweruser.com/tip-winv-is-the-cl...

Other than that, I probably use Ctrl+V and Shift+Insert about equally, depending how recently I interacted with a terminal.

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown

Oh great! I hadn't known about that one... New game mode unlocked!

Collapse
 
mawulegabriel profile image
MawuleGabriel

Hello Ryan
Sorry for this, but I am Gabriel an I.T student and have been learning Python for a while because I would want to venture into Back-End in Software Engineering.
But I really need a mentor who I would make accountability to, so as to keep me on my toes.
Can you be my mentor please?