DEV Community

Shakeel A
Shakeel A

Posted on

Gym Planner | My Coding Adventure as a Code Newbie

I am a gap year student, currently on a journey of my own, learning how to code, to upskill in different areas in computer science. This path that I find myself on, a path of learning and adventure, with the guidance of Codecademy, is what led me too write my first program, and to write this first blog of mine. I must admit, for every problem that I faced, to solve bugs, issues and to have a working program, has invoked a sense of excitement and deepened my motivation.

Image description
This is one of my first few programs written in the programming language Python. Initially, this project was to create a terminal game, but I wanted my program to be of somewhat useful in the real world. This is a terminal-based program and serves the purpose to help decide any gym goers on what exercises to do based on what muscle groups they want to train. At the beginning of the program would prompt the user to enter their name, and a personalised welcome message would follow.

The user is asked to select their desired muscle group that they would want to train. Based on this, the program would iterate through a list of exercises working the selected muscle group. Users can either add or reject the exercises.

There is a limit of three exercises per muscle group. The user is required to select another muscle group to train alongside with their first choice, and an additional three exercises. The only exception being legs, where is limited to six exercises and there are no secondary muscle group to train alongside with legs.

The program would finally then return the exercise plan, a result of their muscle groups and a list of exercises linked to those muscle groups.

Gym Planner | Github

Go ahead and check out my program on GitHub, any suggestions and improvements are most welcome :)

Top comments (0)