DEV Community

Salmaan Ali
Salmaan Ali

Posted on

Why did you decide to study software engineering?

My first experience with coding was not the hottest. It made me feel like I didn't have the aptitude for software engineering. Many years later, though, I found myself in the office wanting to solve problems that could only be solved with coding. I decided to try my hand it again. And to my surprise, I now found the process totally enjoyable! More than just the complete satisfaction of successfully running my program, but also the iterative process of building it, the continuous learning that would feed into improving it, the consideration of all users (front end and back end), and the incredibly resourceful community online. I absolutely loved the full experience!

The only problem was that I had already begun on an economics career path and I wasn't sure if I should drop it all to start on a new career.

I struggled with the decision for over a year. But I've now decided to take the risk and embark on this journey. And I'm honestly over the moon for it!

I'm excited to eventually meld my experience in economics with software engineering to pursue a career in either the FinTech or eLearning industries.

Let's do this!

Top comments (0)