DEV Community

Sam Allan
Sam Allan

Posted on

Cloud Resume Challenge Devblog

Today I finally made a start on the Cloud Resume Challenge. I'll be documenting my progress here.

I started with what I took as the easy part, creating a basic static website. For now its nothing complicated at all, it's simply just my base resume copied over to HTML with some CSS to make it less bland. I plan on going back over it after completing the challenge and doing a design overhaul. I'll be leaving the certification part until the end too as it's something I'll need to study up on much more to be comfortable taking the test.

After creating the skeleton of the site and getting it to run locally, I started work on the AWS side of the project. I began with setting up an S3 bucket and uploading the static site files to it. Following on from this I started researching AWS' CloudFront, a content delivery network (CDN) service that speeds up the distribution of both static and dynamic websites though its use of "edge locations". Edge locations are data centers where content is caches and server to users, reducing the latency by using locations that are geographically closer to the user. CloudFront integrates with other AWS services like AWS Certificate Manager to enable HTTPS which ensures secure connections by encrypting the data transferred between edge locations and the end user, as well as between thee original server and CloudFront.

Moving onto the DNS part of the task. I had already had a domain registered in my name on Domain.com. However, for the sake of keeping everything together, I am in the process of transferring it to AWS' Route 53 but this will take a few days. This was all I'd managed to get done on the first day because of the time constraints I was on but I feel like it's a good start. Since I need to wait for the DNS to transfer over I feel like its a good excuse to work on some assessments instead, so it will probably be a few days until my next post.

cloudresumechallenge.dev

Top comments (0)