DEV Community

Shannon Crabill
Shannon Crabill

Posted on

I've Rediscovered How Fun Javascript Can Be, Ask Me Anything!

I remember when Javascript finally clicked for me way back in 2017.

It was magical.

I could build apps with weird functionality without too much overhead.

Then, my focus changed, life happened.

Nearly 3 years later (after learning OOP, Ruby, and Ruby on Rails in the meantime) I'm back on the Javascript train and ready to keep experimenting and learning.

AMA.

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What lead you to stray from JS inbetween?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill • Edited

The million-dollar question!

There is no Javascript in email development (my day job) so dabbling with that was strictly an evenings/weekend thing. Looking back at 2018, I spoke at 3 conferences which took up a lot of my spare time. And I bought a house, moved, enrolled/completed a nanodegree (which did have some complex Javascript at its core, but I was mostly playing catch up) and started looking into new roles. In 2019, more of the same, but by Spring things started to calm down.

It wasn't that I didn't want to do more with Javascript, I was just had other priorities.

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem

Optional chaining.. You love it?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I had not heard of optional chaining, but I like the idea of it. I'll have test it out.

Collapse
 
ryands17 profile image
Ryan Dsouza

What was the one feature in JS that helped you out the most while solving a given problem or issue?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

It's not ideal but I still use a lot of console.logs() to quickly test my outputs or to see if my functions are firing. Using typeof has also been helpful.

Collapse
 
anupktarafder profile image
AnupKTarafder

Everyone I know, uses this. I have at least one console log in every function.

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

I got a question I’m in love with C# and I’m considering on stop learning it until I learn JavaScript ,My question is should I learn first c# or JavaScript ?

Collapse
 
jappyjan profile image
jappyjan

Wrong question.

Learn what you need and what you want to.

If you want to learn Javascript, do it.

No language is generally better than another. It always depends on what you want to achieve...

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

Thanks for your answer & yes definitely I’m going to start doing that focusing on what I need to achieve ..

Collapse
 
laudb profile image
Laud B

Awesome! What's your new javascript thing to do now that you didn't do before?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I hadn't used fetch much before now, so I am looking forward to using it and experimenting with APIs.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

What is your favorite new feature that you discovered.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

It's really new but the move to let and const over var is great. Everything feels so much cleaner and easier to troubleshoot.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Const is great! Array.map is my favorite. I never write for loops in is anymore.

Collapse
 
tarascz profile image
Jiří Tarašovič

Why don't use typescript instead?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I'm not familiar with typescript.

Collapse
 
tadman profile image
Scott Tadman

What did you pick up from Ruby that impacted your JavaScript development style?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Learning the fundamentals behind OOP has been game changing. I feel like I get stuck less or if I do, I know what to try to work toward a solution. 💪

Collapse
 
rolandixor profile image
Roland Taylor

Why does JavaScript hate me? All I did was call it all sorts of bad names...

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

Is JavaScript Object Oriented Language ?

Collapse
 
jappyjan profile image
jappyjan

Not from day one. But it's possible by now.

Collapse
 
jcoelho profile image
José Coelho

I see you’re an Email developer, what does that entail? And how do you use Javascript for that?