DEV Community

Sean Killeen
Sean Killeen

Posted on • Originally published at seankilleen.com on

How I Use Trello as a “Continuous Travel Packing List”

We recently got back from a big trip, and that reminded me I’ve been meaning to publish a tip on how Trello has saved me a lot of time and hassle around travel – and how to set it up so that it can benefit you as well. I’m a big fan of kanban boards in general but this may have helped me more than any other.

Why a “Continuous” Packing List?

In short? Because I used to forget stuff. All the time. By creating a continuous packing list that I reset for every trip, I could continue to add items that I’d forget and then never forget them again. This has a great deal of appeal for me. It has stopped me from forgetting probably 100 things since I created it, which adds up to some real hassle saved.

My wife and I also may need to do some asynchronous planning / packing, especially with our little guy running around, and so the list is especially helpful when one of us thinks of something in the moment. It’s a really effective way to talk through this sort of thing with a partner.

Lastly, it makes me a more efficient packer/traveler. I’m someone who, if left to my own devices, would wander around our house aimlessly thinking “maybe I should bring this?” in ways that would be comical if they weren’t frustrating. It also reduces the anxiety that comes along with travel (“Did we turn the stove off?” “Did we remember to run the dishwasher?”), because it’s clear what we did and didn’t do.

Our Trello Board Setup

Read the rest at SeanKilleen.com!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, this is brilliant, Sean! Can't tell you how many times I walk onto a plane only to realize dammit I left my headphones/socks/gloves/x-y-&-z. Good thinking!

Collapse
 
seankilleen profile image
Sean Killeen

So glad you found it useful! It saves me some sort of hassle almost every single trip, haha.