DEV Community

Seog-Jun Hong
Seog-Jun Hong

Posted on

Introduction

Hi guys! My name is Seog-Jun(Or James) and I'm currently studying Computer Programming & Analysis at Seneca Polytechnic in Toronto. At the same time, I'm working for a POS software company as a QE Automation Engineer.

Open Source course is one of the courses that I really wanted to take. We only used to deal with labs and assignments created by professors and there were no chances to experience bigger projects in the field, so this is definitely a great opportunity to look into open-source code and contribute to the project throughout the course.

To be honest, I love programming and fixing a bug even though it takes lots of time, but it always gives me a sense of achievement that makes me keep working. However, I'm still not sure what kinds of programming languages I like and what positions I prefer(e.g. front-end or back-end), I can say in a positive way that I'm open to anything given to me. Through the Open Source course, I'd like to experience a language that I have little knowledge of and check whether I like it or not. Also, I hope I can contribute to the project I choose and improve my teamwork skills while collaborating with maintainers.

For this semester, I will mainly work on Typescript as I almost forgot about it, and Typescript is being widely used in the field. After searching for projects in Typescript on the Trending page, I came across a trending project on GitHub called Documenso(https://github.com/documenso/documenso). This is a Docusign alternative and it makes signing documents fast and easy digitally. The reason I chose this project is they're currently working on a large-scale refactor using Typescript to fully take advantages of its safety features such as generics and type guards.

That's all for me today and I'm looking forward to taking this fantastic journey! Thanks for reading my first post.

Top comments (0)