DEV Community

Kim Seon Woo
Kim Seon Woo

Posted on • Updated on

Why should we pay for chrome extensions for AI stuff ?? 🧐🧐🧐

After chatGPT was released, I've been using chrome extensions such as "Sider".

  • Description of Sider chrome extension
    Image description

  • How it looks when installed
    Image description

It provides many features and lovely UI but the downside is... I have to pay for the usage even though I'm using api keys of my own(And I use Sider to ask questions only 😡)!! I looked for other chrome extensions but they also asked me to pay if I wanted to use more.

I know it's worth paying, but I didn't want to pay for it anymore. So I created a sidebar(which is a chrome extension) that can be used to call chatGPT APIs more easily. I am opening this into open source because I want it to have more features and used it freely by people who suffer from same problem as I did.

Image description

Please feel free to contribute to this NEW open source if you have interest. It's written in "Vue 3" and "Typescript". Minimal code has been written, so you'll find it easy to grasp the structure and ideas.

Features that has to be implemented are:

  • Allow users to select model
  • Allow users to stop streaming response from chatGPT
  • Better UI/UX design
  • Support AI other than chatGPT(Google bard etc)
  • ... more ideas are welcome 😀

So please feel free to come and take a look, and if you want to contribute, just do it! Let's make something great together. Btw I'm planning to distribute it to chrome extension soon!

Chrome extension: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/free-ai-side-bar/bphjdepgpbodffelhponjdfpjdajghgc
GitHub link: https://github.com/seonwoo960000/ai-sidebar

Top comments (0)