DEV Community

Cover image for iOS404 - The missing web features of iOS.
Shalanah Dawson
Shalanah Dawson

Posted on • Updated on

iOS404 - The missing web features of iOS.

In 2018, I was working in the pre-pandemic world. All the devs (iOS + web) sat in the same section.

I loved being inspired by the apps my fellow programmers were creating with Swift.

In one such app, a colleague showed me a feature that allowed the user to swipe to change options along with some haptics to accompany the movement. This additional layer of feedback significantly enhanced the user's experience.

I started focusing more on mobile for my web apps too.

While I was adding haptics to a site with Vibration API - I started checking iPhones and iPads too (I use a Pixel). Too frequently, the tech I wanted to use to make sites as rich as native apps, was noticeably absent from only iOS. Compounding this frustration, I couldn't nudge users on iPhones or iPads to other browsers since it was all WebKit.

Fast foward to 2024.

I've embarked on a period of "fun-employment," during which I'm immersing myself in learning new skills such as R3F, Blender, and nextjs. Although learning is energizing, to really learn the concepts you've got to make things.

My theme for March was "Advocacy" --- and that's how iOS404 came to be.

I wanted it to be plain-as-day what iOS is lacking in web features even compared to its flagship Desktop Safari.

iOS404 uses caniuse data. Other sources like MDN are more exhaustive and have even more missing iOS features. I'm hoping iOS404 data is a great start and can aid you as you plan and build your websites.

Happing coding, and across all mediums and languages.

-Shalanah Dawson

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dmitriid profile image
Dmitrii 'Mamut' Dimandt • Edited

The problem is, this deliberately misrepresents what is actually happening.

How many of those "non-supported standards" are in fact "not on any standards track" because they are Chrome-only non-standards? Why do some link lead not to actual specs, but to Microsoft blogs? etc.

Your site is anything but "advocacy". It's misinformation