DEV Community

Chris
Chris

Posted on

What's the state of Real-Time Web Frameworks?

Can anyone recommend some Full-Stack Real-Time Web Frameworks?

I'm searching for something that "just magically reflects" some state from the server on the client. That state is mostly the database, but can sometimes also be some custom logic or some other source.

Yes, there are Websockets or GraphQL Subscriptions but one still has to implement handling events manually. Apollo for example even recommends just polling every few seconds, which I find big waste of resources as 99% I'm getting the same data over and over, instead of just pushing if something has changed. Is this really the state of doing things in 2020?

Starting to look around (my domain is the Javascript Ecosystem ATM but open for new), I stumbled upon MeteorJS and and it seems it's the only one fitting this requirement.

Any other recommendations?

Top comments (0)