DEV Community

Peter Rombouts for Sogeti

Posted on • Originally published at peterrombouts.nl on

Does language matter?

Originally posted on SogetiLabs: https://labs.sogeti.com/does-language-matter/

In my previous blog I stated my learning goal for 2020: Learning (or getting a better understanding) of the Go language. Currently I’m studying various courses, and have to give huge credits to Todd McLeod for his excellent work on courses on this subject.

Working with what you were given

In many cases I have to work what is given. If I am helping a client running Java with Docker, I cannot simply move them to another language or framework, just because that seems a better technical solution. I have to keep in mind that people and companies have invested in a language or framework, and sometimes it seems almost a religious feud (Windows vs Linux) instead of an objective view on the subject. So in a way, a language does not matter in my work as a consultant or architect. I have my preferences, but cannot force them onto a group just for sake of my own reasons.

Let’s Go! (pun intended)

Go is a very elegant and fast language. Testing is built right into the language, as is documentation. It pretty much runs on any OS, and does that really fast.

The authors (Robert Griesemer, Rob Pike, and Ken Thompson) wanted to address criticism of other languages in use at Google, but keep their useful characteristics (Wikipedia):

  • static typing and run-time efficiency (like C++)
  • readability and usability (like Python or JavaScript)
  • high-performance networking and multiprocessing

In Go everything revolves around ease of programming and frankly, it is just plain fun coding in Go! I’m amazed with the speed of coding and simplicity of concurrency. Numerous IDE’s are available, making it easy to start with the language.

What language do you choose?

If you are in a greenfield environment, or want to create services that have the need for speed; think beyond your comfort zone. Experiment with languagues and frameworks. See what fits for your purpose.

In any case, take a look at Go with your team, and let me know what you think of it!

Top comments (0)