DEV Community

So Sun Park
So Sun Park

Posted on

creative technologist job research (2)

In the previous post, I was wondering about where Touch Designer stands in creative tech industry. I asked a friend of my friend who works at one of the world-known creative studios.

These were my questions

  • if you gotta choose, Touch Designer OR Unity?
  • Is TD becoming the industry standard?
  • Any other recommendations/insights about technical tools/skills that are preferred in the industry?

These were his answers

  • personally, he comes from Houdini, so he chooses TD over Unity
  • TD is definitely used a lot for installations, projections, performances, multi large canvas screens. Good for large studio projects.
  • Unreal is slowly outdating a lot of softwares: graphical power, multimedia playground. But it lacks accessibility.
  • Web is definitely recommended, especially with web3 and webGPU.
  • TD features are similar to Unreal + Houdini.
  • Unity is good for experimental coding
  • WebXR is definitely recommended. If you have portable skills like web dev or python, that's great.

I personally prefer coding than node-based applications. So I think I will focus on web graphics, web xr, threejs, webgl :D

Top comments (0)