DEV Community

Steve Hopper
Steve Hopper

Posted on

Accessing ASP.NET website for the first time is really slow

I have ASP.NET MVC website, that I deployed to GoDaddy. Reason I chose GoDaddy was, that they had a amazing offer, $20 for domain name and 50GB hosting for the first year. The app is deployed there, works fine, I'm using databases provided by GoDaddy, so all is good.

However, if I want to access my site (osuskins.me), it takes a really long time the first time I do, but is fine for about an hour afterwards. It's like it's being cached by IIS or something. I posted an article there and it got popular, so for about 2 days, the site response was nearly instant. I even tried clearing browser cache and different devices, in case I had it cached locally, but even after that, it took 1-2s max to load.

Today, I checked it again and it took about 15 seconds to load. I checked Google analytics and no one has been on it for the past 10 hours, so I was first access in a long time.

I don't have access to IIS controls, because GoDaddy doesn't have that on basic hosting, but is there some setting in Web.config file that could keep the site "fresh" at all times? I deploy it precompiled, I have caching on one controller action, but that is only for 5 minutes to lessen DB access.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
euankennedy profile image
Euan

Sounds like it’s coming off a cold start after being idle. Maybe whip up a Power Automate on a half-hourly schedule to exercise an endpoint and keep it warm?

Collapse
 
stevehopper profile image
Steve Hopper

Can anyone help me