DEV Community

Cover image for The Final PR... Face Palm Worthy. What a disaster!
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

The Final PR... Face Palm Worthy. What a disaster!

The Hactoberfest nightmare begins...First I tried to run this dotnet/aspdotnetcore but I could not because it was not able to read my versions of SDK. I downloaded the correct version and still had the same issue. My gut told me to talk to tech support but no not me, I like to do things the hard way. So I get this idea to uninstall VS19 (Visual Studio 2019) and then re-install it after with needed software to open the project. Unfortunately a file was corrupted and I was unable to uninstall the software despite repairing it. Eventually I figured out that all I had to do was go into add/remove programs and choose to modify, then pick the version I want added to VS19. Yep, I did that. I had a back-up plan... in fact I had two. I go to look at the first "back-up" issue to discover it had been closed. Oh well, I will go to the second one. Low and behold it was closed too. Oh boy, now what?

Back to the Hacktoberfest website and find something not C#, feeling a little defeated. I found something. opendrinks, they were requesting contributors to include a drink recipe and/or fix some errors. The Chef in me said YES! Well... I know it is no where near as difficult as my third PR but at this point, time was an issue. I searched in the project to see what they had and then had to figure out what to include. Once I found my recipe, a "Galaxie" cocktail that changes colors. I went to work testing the program and looking through to find errors I can fix. I found a few. Missing information, a URL that did only led you to a 404 page and some inconsistencies that could be fixed to help the outcome be much nicer. I finished and did my PR. It wasn't over yet though. One of the files I fixed had a conflict. I fixed the conflict and then everything cleared. Edits and additions were merged!

I should be happy, but I still feel defeated. I was looking forward to doing more C# but due to software issues, I had to step away and go back to javascript. It's like something in the Universe keeps telling me to get into javascript. When I get my VS19 fixed, I will seek the opportunity to contribute to that original project. At the end of this Hacktoberfest, it was an enjoyable experience. I definitely plan to do this again.... only next year I'm going to get my son to participate as well! He is in his first semester of Computer engineering. Oh you should see the faces of my family members when we start chatting about coding! Haha!

Top comments (0)