DEV Community

JungDaeSuh
JungDaeSuh

Posted on

What I learned - Error makes me a better programmer

Note: The boot camp that I'm in is in the Republic of Korea (South Korea), and does not offer courses in overseas (unless you can listen lectures in Korean). So this post is not to promote a particular boot camp or any boot camp.

  • I think there are some typos and grammatical error in this post. I'll fix them tomorrow.

It's been 9 weeks since I started learning programming full-time, and I wanted to share some new epiphany I had recently. That is, making error makes me a better programmer. To be more precise, making error and trying to fix them make me a better programmer.

I have heard that adding lines of code into existing program is excruciating. It may even bring down a whole system. So one must be very careful and thoughtful when writing code.

What I'm trying to convey is that when you're in learning phase, feel free to make many error. A good thing about programming is that the number of error you can make is almost limitless, given that you're practicing your skills, not actually working on applications currently used by users.

As someone who came from a domain whose number of trials is often limited, it was hard for me to try out code I've written at first. I had to force myself to run things, whether I felt sure about my code or not.

I realized the more I make error, the more I learned how to make things work.

For example, when I was learning how to use AWS VPC, RDS, lambda function, and NAT gateway, I had to re-create lambda functions a number of times because of some error. While it felt like I was wasting my time, since it could have been done at first try, my understanding of the relationship between the VPC, RDS, NAT gateway and lambda function deepened, as my number of tries increased.

Although it's shameful, my initial goal wasn't to understand the VPC and so on (it seemed daunting at first), but to get through the assignment I was given. Unintentionally, because of the error I encountered, I understood how virtual private clouds work.

I haven't worked on a real production yet, so I can only speak for those who just began to learn programming. And for those who just began to code, don't be afraid to make error. You'll remember and learn more from code that didn't work at first, rather than code that worked the first time.

Top comments (0)