DEV Community

Wren Summerset
Wren Summerset

Posted on

Intro to Web Development

Being a student at a bootcamp for web development has been a fantastic experience. Its as though I have this 1000 piece puzzle sitting in a box in front of me. Teachers and mentors have been pulling pieces out of the box and telling me about it, and I look at this piece in my hand and say, “aaaahh...” followed by a though like, “ok... what do I do with it?” Every once in awhile I find that two of the pieces connect, and then maybe a third. These connections are seriously exciting and fun. So even though the idea of doing a 1000 piece puzzle feels intimidating and impossible even, People are telling me that I’ll be able to function well in the workfield with only several groupings of 50 pieces or so. I don’t have to have the full puzzle completed before I’ll be “good enough”.

I’m seeing that this is a community of people who seem to love their jobs and are interested in being mentors. Its a community of people constantly learning and adding to their own puzzles. Its a community of people who seem excited that I’ve started working on the puzzle, and all of that feels very exciting.

Top comments (0)