DEV Community

Wren Summerset
Wren Summerset

Posted on

Overcomming obstacles in the tech world:

This week in class we were given the assignment of connecting our local git to GitHub on the internet via an SSH connection. For someone who only figured out the difference between git and GitHub this week, it was a daunting task.

Your ability to overcome obstacles is only as good as the tools you have on hand. Thats why so many different people come up with a variety of solutions to the same problem in the tech world. Its based on your personal experience, your ability to google/ask others, and perhaps most of all, your ability to ask the right questions.

I started out trying to work the problem until I came up against a command line I couldn’t get past. Enter Google. I pasted the failure message from the command line into google, and I researched SSH... nothing was working. Others in class working the same problem started collaborating, and I began calling on my people, asking in the local tech community slack channel. Several people piped in, for which I was grateful, but I wasn’t making progress even after studying their posted links. I was trying to ask about something specific, but I wasn’t getting the right answers... I must not be asking the right questions, but the exposure I got through studying their materials is what allowed me to recognize the right answer when an assistant teacher was helping me look at several things in my computer!! Okay, I had the key I wanted... but still not the understanding of how to use it. Another instructor posted a YouTube video which was finally the step by step help I needed to overcome the hold up I was experiencing in the command line.

I was able to continue with the assignment. A few more speed bumps but nothing to stop me! It was exhilarating spending hours trying to solve this puzzle. The main thing that strikes me as I interact with others in the tech community is a certain air of engagement, and interest in their personalities. I feel nearly certain that this comes from the nature of the job which involves a constant need to learn and overcome obstacles.

Top comments (0)