DEV Community

Swastik Yadav
Swastik Yadav

Posted on • Updated on

The 8020 Principle: You don't need to know everything to get started.

Beginners often put too much pressure on learning it all quickly. All the tips, tricks, frameworks, and libraries.

I believe that we should first make our fundamentals strong. And the fundamentals for web development are HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

8020 Principle

8020 Principle also known as Pareto principle. This principle states that 80% of results come from only 20% of the input in any given field.

While working on several different coding projects I myself have noticed that we use the same 20% concepts most of the time.

Only sometimes, we have to go beyond that 20%. I have always learned it on the way.

So, learn that 20% to get started and learn everything else on the way.

Programming is not tough, it is just huge. Learn Enough to be dangerous.


If you believe in this principle and want to learn enough (20%) CSS, to get the job done, and build pixel-perfect webpages from scratch.

Join my 8020 NewsLetter, where I share everything you need to know, and nothing you don't.

Thanks a lot

Top comments (0)