DEV Community

Stephen Yuan
Stephen Yuan

Posted on

BitTorrent

[Comment]: This is a personal project I have been doing since March. The project is to use Go to implement a BitTorrent client that downloads and distributes files across the Internet. I followed a blog post to build the client from scratch and I have really liked the progress so far. I learned a lot about both Golang and the BitTorrent protocol, which is a very popular peer-to-peer protocol for file distribution over the Internet.

[Note]: The original idea and implementation of this project is from another post. I started this project for the purpose of learning Golang and BitTorrent.

My Final Project

(Since the project is still under development, I will post a sample demo here)
asciicast

Link to Code

Github Repo

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

I used Golang. The concurrency channel of Golang makes it really easy to manage different peers in a single BitTorrent client program.

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

The project is still under development and will see constant commits. Please let me know what you think about the project!

Top comments (0)