DEV Community

Taariq Elliott
Taariq Elliott

Posted on

Open-SourceπŸ‘¨πŸΎβ€πŸ’»πŸŒπŸ”¬

I'm a huge fan of anything free and open-source, as it allows access to many different products and communities that are otherwise closed off by some paywall. From designing to visuals to code, there are so many people to thank for being integral in helping me express myself and get work done! πŸ™Œβœ¨

I'll name a few and how they've helped:

  • p5.js 🎨 - The best open-source JavaScript library for creative coding.
  • Blender πŸ› οΈ - The best software for 3D modeling and rendering; nothing comes close.
  • Bruno 🐢 - An amazing API client, much like Postman, but no email is required.
  • VS Code πŸ’» - This one is touchy since it's a Microsoft product, but it's so helpful and accessible.
  • Processing 🌟 - Another really cool open-source development environment for creative coding.
  • Python 🐍 - A crowd favorite for all types of computational applications, data analytics and web apps.
  • Linux 🐧 - Essential for literally anything related to computers, especially Raspberry Pis!

We need more open-source projects because they are truly at the epicenter of creativity, innovation, and community. I love knowing that I've created or contributed to something built out of love and not for monetary gain. That spirit extends into my work, and I hope that energy permeates from my creations to the next person. 🌍❀️

Top comments (0)