DEV Community

Tay
Tay

Posted on

Have you ever had multiple offers to weigh before?

I see this all the time - "interview around and make sure that you're getting the best deal at a company you value" is the type of saying I see in various areas by bloggers and engineering influencers. I'm curious to see how many engineers actually do get multiple offers to weigh because I feel that while this is good advice, it comes from an assumption a certain amount of leverage that the engineer must have in order to garner multiple offers whether that be through references, experience, expertise, saved money, etc.

I personally have never had multiple offers and I believe it is because:

  1. I have never really had the monetary leverage to wait and interview long enough to get them.
  2. I am normally really bad at technical interviews.

So the question is, have you ever had multiple offers to weigh before and why?

If you have, what do you think contributed to that (timing, money, experience, etc)? If you haven't and you're comfortable with saying why you took the first offer you got, please reply!

Top comments (0)