DEV Community

Cover image for OSD700 - Eventful week contributing to Starchart
TD
TD

Posted on

OSD700 - Eventful week contributing to Starchart

Last week was all about getting started; this week, we were tasked with building on top of the Blues Stack template we set up last week.

This week was quite eventful, and we broke things, but we also managed to fix things as a team. There was a lot of collaboration and active participation, which needs to be improved in some of the other courses I have previously taken.

There were moments when I felt stuck or made a mistake that I thought was irreversible, but luckily the team I am working with was there to steer me in the right direction.

My first task with porting over middleware used by Satellite and adding it to Remix's server. Remix's Blues Stack, by default, uses Morgan, but we wanted to use Pino instead. However, Pino seems to cause a problem, so David has to switch to using Winston.

My second task was to configure Nodemailer to send email notifications in the future. We have set up the function responsible for sending emails, but there's no way of knowing if it will work. We may have to make some adjustments to the current Nodemailer configuration. Next week, I aim to implement functionality to ensure we can successfully send test email notifications.

Finally, setting up Dependabot was fun, but some of us got bothered by it, while others remained unaffected. One of the significant issues with the Dependabot setup was that it would raise PRs for major version updates. We do not want Dependabot to major version updates, as, according to David, it's risky and should be handled manually. Gladly, I resolved that issue by restricting Dependabot to minor and patch-level version updates.

This week I want to ensure we can send the test notifications successfully. Also, I want to enhance Dependabot's current configuration. I am open to helping in other areas of development if needed.

Top comments (0)